DVI cables? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2008, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default DVI cables?

Noob question but I was given DVI cables to use with my monitor, what do these do and do I need any extra part for these to work? Do I just plug them in and that's it or what?

I have a hanns.g 19'' widescreen LCD
__________________

xxsomethingxx is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: DVI cables?

thinking that yourmonitor has a dvi slot its a case of plug one end into your pc and the other end into your monitor

IF your monitor or pc has a vga slot you would need a vga to dvi converter

somthing like this

Amazon.co.uk: DVI-I plug to VGA socket: Electronics & Photo
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: DVI cables?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

I has a socket for both DVI and VGA. Would I need to unplug the VGA and just leave the DVI one in or do I have to get a converter?
xxsomethingxx is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: florida
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to kraig6412
Default Re: DVI cables?

dvi is alot better looking than vga in my oppionon but assuming your motherboard has dvi, and you have a lcd screen with a dvi input on it you plug on end into the screen the other in the back of the tower.
kraig6412 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: DVI cables?

Do I need both VGA and DVI cables hooked up? I have enough slots in the monitor and in the computer to plug both in but do I need to?
xxsomethingxx is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: florida
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to kraig6412
Default Re: DVI cables?

no just the dvi
kraig6412 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: DVI cables?

DVI is higher quality than VGA. Just plug in the DVI, you do not need both.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: florida
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to kraig6412
Default Re: DVI cables?

hey this is off topic but is vga higher quality than hdmi
kraig6412 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 01:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: DVI cables?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kraig6412 View Post
hey this is off topic but is vga higher quality than hdmi
I don't know if that is a statement or a question but, newer versions of DVI (DVI Dual link) and HDMI (1.4) support up to 2560x1600, older versions (single link DVI) and VGA support up to 1920x1200

only downside is HDMI cables are considerable more expensive than VGA cables
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 01:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: DVI cables?

DVI is basically HDMI quality... VGA is a bit less
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dvi sub, lowers fps? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-04-2008 09:57 PM
DVI to HDMI: HD Output Question Rawmaterial Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 06-17-2008 10:47 PM
HDMI vs. DVI video card fifreak3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-22-2008 08:29 AM
DVI will not work during boot kontradictor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-12-2008 10:03 PM
DVI vs VGA? akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-20-2007 12:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.