DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2011, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h

Basic and simple question. I need a DVI cable to go from my GTX 560ti to my Acer P215h monitor. I am currently using a VGA converter but I need the VGA cable for another monitor and I need to get a DVI cable anyways. I am just not sure about which cable I need. I don't know what the different kinds are/mean as far as "-D", "-A", "-I", single-link vs dual-link. I went to RadioShack and they wanted $35 for a 6 foot cable and I wasn't even sure it would work right and I wasn't about to spend that much money on one.

In the manual it looks like it is a DVI-D dual-link and says "connect the 24-pin DVI cable" but I just want to make sure I get the right one. On the specs page for the 215 it says "DVI-D Input (DVI w/HDCP), DVI-D Input + HDMI(w/HDCP)" but on the specs for the 215h it says "VGA DVI (w/HDCP) HDMI (w/HDCP)". I am pretty confused.

Screenshot from the manual:

Acer P215 DVI by Fairfield Falcons Fan, on Flickr

I just need a 6-ft cable and both Newegg and Amazon are fine. Thanks in advance!
__________________

fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h

DVI-D and DVI-I will work fine when just normal DVI is required (the opposite is not true).
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h

I've been reading the Wikipedia page and trying to understand the differences. So which letter would be considered "normal" DVI?

So either of these should work?

1. Newegg - Link Depot 6 ft. DVI-D Cable

2. Cables To Go DVI-D Dual Link Digital Video Cable

I'll propbably go with the Amazon one cause it is cheaper and would have free shipping if I bought some other stuff I need/want.
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h

DVI-D would be the "normal" one, I guess, since it's primarily a digital connector.

Summary of DVI:
DVI-D is digital only, DVI-A is analog only (and rare), and DVI-I is both. There are dual-link versions of DVI-D and DVI-I, which means you can can transfer two video feeds at once.

So yeah, you'll want DVI-D.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: DVI cable for GTX 560ti to Acer P215h

Ok thanks. I'll get the one from Amazon probably. Thanks for the help!
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 560Ti $98 Shady090 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-02-2011 09:06 AM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM
Coaxil Cables for Cable Internet / Cable TV freak67 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-16-2006 06:11 PM
Difference between Network Cable and Patch Cable? qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-24-2006 09:37 PM
can i use a normal crossover cable for a system link cable? ccrraazzyy Microsoft XBox 11 03-03-2005 03:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.