Dvd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default Dvd

I have an Atholon AMD that has a cd player and burner in 1. it does not have a dvd player or dvd burner. I noticed that under my cd player there is clip that (I assume) is for adding a dvd player which was put there by the guy who built my PC. If I buy a dvd burner can i just place it in the slot and plug it into the clip in order to make it work or is it more complicated. Can I burn DVDs if i install the dvd burner without having a dvd player in the computer?? Or do they make dvd burners that are also dvd players in one. I am new to the building and appreciate any help.
__________________

moreira85 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

If you have another 5.25" Drive Bay(same slot size as your cd burner) on your case, then you can mount another drive there.

You still have to check your motherboard and see if you have any free ide slots.

Also, you have to check the jumpers on the devices when installing.

A dvd burner is able to read and write dvd/cd. Dvd rom can only read dvd/cd.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks a lot, i do have another slot available and i am going to add a dvd burner. I have a slave open on the ide so i will be able to add the burner there. what is a jumper????? I was wondering since i will have a cd rom and now a dvd writer that can also burn dvd's and read them how can i burn a dvd if it is read and written off the same drive??? can I download dvd's from online??
moreira85 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Jumpers are pins at the back of the drive that you set the drive to either master/slave/or cable select.

If you want to directly copy a dvd disk then your going to need another drive that reads while another drive burns.

If you can copy the dvd disk to your hard drive, then burn you could do that. But you might need some software to do it, probably do to protection and security.

I'm not sure about the dvd's from online.
brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.