Dual screen setups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Dual screen setups

just a few quick questions, is having 2 screens (another one to match my new 22") a pain ? because of the gap in the middle for normal gameing/desktop use?

and the other is can you assign things like games to one screen ? and your desktop to ther other ? because i regularly want to game on my PC and go on MSN and the internet.

P.S. to do what i mentioned above... does it hammer ur ram/cpu/gpu ?, also, cudnt find anywere to post it. Link if theres a proper section.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Dual screens is just that, dual screens. Unless you go in and tell it to treat both screens as one big screen which i dont care for. Right now i have a 24" for my main and a 20" for my other programs like Trillian, coretemp, firefox, etc.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: Dual screen setups

yeah, you have to drag stuff over to that screen manually.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Dual screen setups

A guy at work had 2 screens 'linked' so you can drag from one through to the other. Works really well, doesn't feel annoying. Great if like me, you always have 5 matlab figures, 3 matlab windows, several excel sheets, firefox, thunderbird, winamp, open folders....

I did have a play around with this on my home computer, but had a lot of trouble with getting my second VGA through a DVI converter into a DVI screen. It looked rubbish. I'd advise having a GPU with 2 of the same outputs.
Andyf is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 02:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Thanks. They will both be the same monitor, and my GPU (X1950Pro) has 2 DVI Outs. So it is possible do drag my whole desktop onto one screen and a game on the other ... ? Because if i can that'd be super.

Even if i cant, it would still be SO Usefull, having about 11Msn coversations, 17 or 18 lots of internet explorer open ( i dislike IE7 and firefox) a game, limewire, and itunes running makes it very hard to use it all with ease.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 07:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Dual screen setups

In Catalyst you select which monitor will be your main monitor and second. Main is for gaming and 2nd for what ever you want.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
In Catalyst you select which monitor will be your main monitor and second. Main is for gaming and 2nd for what ever you want.
Arr great ! (Can't wait till christmas now )
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Here is a screen shot of my computer at work. I have a 24" Widscreen for the one on the left and a 20" Standard for the monitor on my right. Each has it's own background and I can drag items between them as much as I want.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c1...nshot-dual.jpg
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 06:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Thanks, so how would i drag a game to one ? or does it auto reasign to one
of them ? is that set up in the span mode or whatever it is ?

Sorry about all the questions, just makeing sure spending £200 on a new monitor would be a good thing for me. Because of course theres also other things like PS3, 360, and PC games, pc upgrades etc etc However just haveing it for my PS3 would be usefull, keep my PS3 plugged into this one, and then if necassary (All of the time ) I can stay on my PC whilst on PS3
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: Dual screen setups

Windows XP allows you to set one monitor as the primary monitor which is the one on which applications start, as well as the one on which the logon screen appears.

You can also get a program called UltraMon which gives extra features (though it's not freeware).
__________________

Jewels is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 dual screen set up veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-18-2007 12:19 AM
Dual Screen Monitors - Questions about setting it up. FooFighter New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-03-2007 12:26 PM
Impressive Dual Screen Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 0 06-20-2007 09:55 PM
Dual Screen WP? Sydzy Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-25-2007 09:37 PM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.