Dual screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default extended desktop help needed

I was at my friends house and he has a monitor connected to his pc. He can scroll from screen to screen. I connected another monitor to my laptop and i see duplicate to what is on my laptop screen. I read around to see if i could do that on my laptop. Iv come to the conclusion that i need to have a pc in order to do it. I dont know much about computers. I was hoping maybe you guys know a way for me to somehow be able to do it?I have a compaq presario 2700 yeah its pretty old ^__^
__________________

pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

go to properties, then settings, then there will be 2 boxes one with a 1 and the other with a 2, click on screen 2, now right on top of the button named identity there is a little box and says extend windows monitor into this monitor, check that box and next click apply then ok.

hope this helps.
__________________

iluvslp is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I did that but its not working. any more advise guys?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

You need a PC with 2 video output connectors on it. meaning 2 DVI's, 2 VGA's, or one of each. with that, you can enable dual monitors with whatever videocard drivers you use.

Spliters dont' work, and hooking up a monitor to a laptop is a dead end because all it does is re-route the signal through that instead of the laptop screen or just mirrors it.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
You need a PC with 2 video output connectors on it. meaning 2 DVI's, 2 VGA's, or one of each. with that, you can enable dual monitors with whatever videocard drivers you use.

Spliters dont' work, and hooking up a monitor to a laptop is a dead end because all it does is re-route the signal through that instead of the laptop screen or just mirrors it.
if it was a pc yes, but he has a laptop , my laptop only has one video output and i can do it with mine.
iluvslp is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iluvslp
if it was a pc yes, but he has a laptop , my laptop only has one video output and i can do it with mine.
How is a laptop not a personal computer?
The General is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

Does your laptop have a graphics card if so you should have either a catalyst control center or a nvidia desktop manager. In the control panel for ur gpu you should have the option to either clone, extend or make a new screen with the extra monitor. Hope this helps , if you would post specifics about the make and model of the laptop you would get better answers.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I really have no clue. how can i found out the specifics?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Where should i look to find out?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 02:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
How is a laptop not a personal computer?

ooops, i meant to say desktop computer, LOL
__________________

iluvslp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.