Dual monitors with two different video cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default Dual monitors with two different video cards

Hey guys, I'm new to this so I have some questions to ask.

First of all, I have an HP PC that has built-in NVidigia GeForce4. I recently went and bought an ATI Radeon 9550 but I forgot to get a DVI-VGA adapter.

I was wondering if it's possible to have dual monitor display with the two different video cards.. with the monitors plugged into each one (the nvidia and the radeon.
__________________

thienhoang21 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

No, its not possible. The second you plug the Radeon into the AGP slot, the onboard graphics will be disabled, and only the Radeon will be active.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

so the same would happen w/ any integrated video card along w/ a video card?
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

The onboard would have to be disabled in the bios... but he is correct... you cannot use both onboard AND the AGP slot card... I have heard... never seen myself, but have heard that 2 cards could work, but I have no clue as to the config you would have to use... but basically, for your info... would be NO, it can't be done.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

2 cards works easy, i've used 3 cards myself.

I've not heard that you can't use onboard vga and a card but I haven't tried it myself.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

With most bought machines... (I had an HP myself as well) it wouldn't let you. I can't do it with our dell POS's at work either... I dunno if it's something written in the bios of those things or what, but I have never seen it work and we have tried with those dells.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Maybe it might work if you use a PCI card?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

The image's would be just mirrored off one another. One card with dual outputs is the way to go. And yes some onboard auto disables when an add on card is installed and some don't. You can buy the adaptor for $8.00 I assume you want two vga's

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...2594&CatId=467
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

If you use 2 cards... how would you get past which driver is primary? speaking as if you used an AGP (in this case) and a PCI? A proprietary machine will go only one way or the other. It will only look in the first place you want it to go. With HP's it's either AGP/PCI or onboard. I don't think you can tell it which slot to look in first. See... now you have me curious as well...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 10:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to Edward
Default

I have done this on two PCs the first was a hp pavilion which didn't have an AGP slot so I used a PCI and the ondboard and the PCI worked fine with different images. I have done it on a custom built one with an ASUS motherboard with a agp card and a PCI card (and now have three monitors :P). The one time that I was thwarted was on a compaq where I couldnt use an AGP card and a PCI card at the same time. It wouldn't let me I would have to choose one or the other in the bios. That really ****ed me off.
__________________

__________________
(\\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(=\'.\'=) signature and help him on his way
(\")_(\") to world domination
Edward is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.