Dual monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Dual monitors

I am wanting to hook up 2 new LCD screens and have come to realize that I will need a new piece of hardware namely "dualhead2go". I would like to ask for those who are experienced with this to advise me as to which product will give me the best picture.
My set up will be 2-42" LCD's. I have 2 GTX 480 cards. My other question would be, do I hook up the DH2go to 1 card, both ports, or hook it up to each card? I may add 2 more screens for side views in the future. I will be building a full scale cockpit eventually. According to this Multiple Monitors for Laptops | Multi-monitors website they have three models available.
Thanks in advance-----chik

LA1978chik is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dual monitors

You do not need anything, just plug your two monitors in the 2 DVI ports, or HDMI, depends what your LCD has. I've run dual screens for 6 years now. You don't need any extra crap.

Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: Dual monitors

Thanks for replying M....M...

I should have specified that I will use both monitors as 1. In other words Flightsimulator (FSX) will "span" both screens.
LA1978chik is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
ninja troll
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Dual monitors

doesnt matter. just set the second monitor to span from the first. right click desktop on display settings.
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870

jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: Dual monitors

Nope. Doesn't work for FSX. You can drag your desktop top around and even web pages but not games...???
I went and bought this Newegg.com - matrox DualHead2Go DP Edition D2G-DP-MIF DisplayPort Interface
LA1978chik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual graphics cards-dual monitors Tik172 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2009 11:28 AM
Dual Monitors Mandingo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-23-2008 01:35 PM
Dual Monitors guitarfreak2765 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 11-10-2006 01:04 PM
dual monitors, dual backgrounds? russ_cell Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-01-2004 07:29 PM
Dual Monitors Dell XPS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-26-2004 05:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.