Dual Monitor Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2006, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Dual Monitor Setup

I currently have a Geforce FX 5700 Ultra 128 mb graphics card and want to setup dual monitors. I'm getting a second monitor soon and was wondering if I needed any kind of adapters or anything to have this done. Currently, I have an HP LCD monitor (about a couple years old) and I'm most likely getting a new Dell monitor. Thanks for any help.

nocode is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Does that card have dual DVI or VGA plugs on the back of it?

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2

This is what's on the card: DVI-out, 15-pin VGA, and S-Video out.

I'm currently using the 15-pin VGA, so is the DVI-out capable of a 2nd monitor? And does this mean I'll need an adapter for a DVI-out to 15-pin VGA? Thanks
nocode is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to loosejello

Your card may have come with an adaptor, and yes, DVI is capable of a second monitor
loosejello is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to bsnyder100

Thats what i am running my second monitor out of. To set up dual screens go to the display setting in the control panel. After that, you will most likely want to choose extend my windows desktop and click ok. Anyway, the process is realatively easy, just make sure your second monitor i(port-dvi in your case) isn't disabled. It took me a couple of days to figure out why my 2nd screen was booting up black!!!
-Be curious it will lead you to all four corners of the world-

<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b67/bsnyder100/12124.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
bsnyder100 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

make sure u get a monitor that uses D-Sub or at least u have an adapater for a DVI monitor.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

the nVIDIA Foreware drivers have a useful tool for setting up multiple monitors.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.