Dual Layer DVD Burner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2010, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default Dual Layer DVD Burner

Hello, I need help with DVD Burning. I'm not so good with computers; so please bare with me. I need to burn DVD+R DL discs, but I need to know if I can upgrade to a better DVD Burner. I currently have a CD-RW Drive, but I don't think that can burn DVD+R DL discs. I was wondering if I could upgrade my DVD Burner to this - HP - 24x Internal Double-Layer DVDRW/CD-RW Drive. My system has these kind of statistics -

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Intel(R)
Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.79 GHz 504 MB of Ram

Thanks! If my CD-RW Drive can burn them, please tell me. I'd rather not waste $50. Again, if this sounds stupid, I'm not that good with computers. Thanks! - XozXX -
__________________

XozXX is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner

Yes, your computer can easily handle an upgrade to a DVD burner.
This one for a mere $30 can do it.

No, unfortunately your CD RW burner can not do it.

So here's my recommendation.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-043-_-Product
Just swap your CD RW drive out for this guy.

You can't use the cheaper SATA drives unfortunately as your computer is too old and uses IDE cables.
So I selected an IDE drive for you.

(you can confirm this if you open up your computer and check and see if your cd rw drive has a ribbon cable on it)
IDE cables are the flat wide ribbon cables
SATA are much thinner and slimmer
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner

Oooo... a Pioneer for $30? Sweet, even if it is IDE.

My wife's computer is way older than yours and it has two DVD burners in it, so you will have no problems.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - Moyea PPT to DVD Burner Pro Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-13-2009 08:09 AM
DVD burner recognized as CD drive infowarrior45 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-04-2009 05:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.