Dual Gigabit LAN? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2006, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default Dual Gigabit LAN?

I am having a dispute argument with my friend wabout two different motherboards. When we came across the Dual Gigabit Feature we had argued about its purpose. I'm not going to write what I thin kits for because I dont want to influence my opinion. May someone please help me and tell me what is the reason for Dual Gigabit LAN on a motherboard.

fusion is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430

Dual Gigabit LAN connectivity
Dual Gigabit LAN provides simultaneous WAN and LAN connection at a blazing fast network connection speed of up to 1,000 Mbps for both network types.

Found this here: http://www.computeralliance.com.au/p...x?qryPart=5437

curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks, hes going to feel pretty stupid now...
fusion is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

It has many uses.

Backup if one fails.
Allows you to share internet without a NIC.
Allows for a direct connection to another computer via crossover cable while still attached to a network.
You can be attached to 2 networks simultaneously.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

you wont be able to get the full stream of 1Gb until your switch is 1GB compatible, also, your Wires are 1Gb compatible. else you'll only get 100Mbps.

and Dual LAN comes on systems which can opt for becoming a small scall / entry level server. therefore, you can make your server as Internet gateway/ Router / DHCP server. Dual LAN is not new to Motherboards, as I remember Asus Gave Dual LAN on their A7N8X- Deluxe board for the first time, and I dont remember using both.
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

the point is that a lot of the time you won't need to connect to more than 2 other networked devices at a time unless you are on an actual network or at a LanParty (in which case there are switch/hubs anyway). gigabit is the new standard in networks and as you only tend to get dual lan on higher end boards the included ports are gigabit.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.