dual cpus and gfxcards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 07:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default dual cpus and gfxcards

for best performence would you use a computer with dual cpus and graphic cards? is it possible to have a slower cpu and gfxcard for windows and better ones dedicated to games?
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is pointless. the idea of having dual cpus is for multitasking. you would probably have best results from an athlon64 X2.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Default

Dual CPU's is pointless as said above, but dual GFX cards are a diffrent story. If you have two GFX cards you will have better performance than if you are only running one. Dual GFX cards is also good when it comes to only having 1 card for a while then getting another one later on if the newer games need it.
M2k4 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

dual cpus are pointless? um um um um um....wtf?!?!?!?

best performance of what?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
dual cpus are pointless? um um um um um....wtf?!?!?!?

best performance of what?
Won't be pointless to have Dual CPU's / X2's for gaming in 22 days hopefully
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M2k4
Dual CPU's is pointless as said above,
Quote:
it is pointless. the idea of having dual cpus is for multitasking. you would probably have best results from an athlon64 X2.
? are we talking about X2s or physical dual cpus
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the original question was on dual cpu's and in this instance dual cpu's are pointless. i'm not saying that dual cpu's are pointless. having dual GFX cards in the way the question has asked is also pointless.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.