dual core, say again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

howard500

Beta member
hello guys,

I am no expert in laptops but I need to get a better one. I have my eye on a laptop that seems quite good for its price but I have a question which is bugging me badly, it comes with Intel Core Duo T2400 (thatÂ’s 1.83 GHz). Now in my ignorance, I have become accustomed to understanding that anything below 3.2 GHz is not worth it when buying new stuff. However, I know there is a trick here but I just canÂ’t put my finger on it, is it two 1.83 GHz processors or what??

In essence I am begging you to explain to me this dual core stuff, and why in the world are processor speeds lower and lower and if they are any good for what I want, which is for flight simulator with its world of addons, which is not a terribly demanding application but certainly needs its stuff so I mention the specs of the laptop for any advice you can give,

Intel Core Duo T2400 (1.83 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB), 2GB DDR2 667MHz SDRAM, (7,200 rpm) 100GB SATA Hard Drive, 256MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 7800 Go, PCI-Express x16

Thank you all in advance,

Regards
howard500 :D