dual core processor ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default dual core processor ?

i have this picked out

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - Retail

but after reviewing some specs on gaming computers this one is the recommended one

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor - Retail

so should i move up and can you explain why ? is it worth $140 more ? i want a fast computer but i'm already about 500 over what i wanted to spend. just the more i learn the more i want "the good stuff" please just give it to me straight.

thanks
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the 3800+ is 2 3200+ cores. it multi-tasks brilliantly and is brilliant for encoding (if you use the right encoder). you can use it to run 2 high demand processes at once at full speed. for instance video encoding and gaming or even encoding 2 videos at once
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

i doubt i'll ever be doing two intense thigs at the same time. jsut net surfing and e-mail. deos todays gaming even need dual core ? or is this a future thing ? how much into the future ?
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

todays games don't even use the second core at all without a patch. in my opinion the main advantage isn't having 2 cores for gaming, it's like i said having one core for gaming and one free for whatever you want which for me most of the time is video encoding. i also am sure to set my virus scanner etc to a seperate core than my games. that way i never get lagged by background processes
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

got ya. so i dont think i need to take that step yet.

so is the 64 3200 a good single core one? or should i step up with it ?
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

personally i would try to get the 3700+ san diego if you can afford it. i really would reccomend the x2 but if you can't afford it and can't see any advantage for yourself then the 3700+ should be great.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

think i might be able to justify 45 more dollars. thanks. the next step up to 3800 seems a bit much right now. since i'm already way over. i will base my planning on the 3700.
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

good luck. if you need any more help you can contact me or post back here. if it is only $45 more then the 3700+ is definitely worth it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

yep only $45 so far my total build cost is $1203.78 minues shipping and tax. $1372.40 to my door. this is less a keyboard and mouse. just case and internals and 19" flat screen and XP.

my original goal was $800 so i have some more overtime to work( maybe two weeks) then i'll get to build my baby.
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 12:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

if you want performance, and or oc go the opteron route either 165 (DC) or 146 (SC)
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.