Dual Core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2006, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Dual Core

A dual core 2.6 ghrt costs 230 australian dollars and a celeron is like 120 Aud,

I know that dual core obviously means faster but how compared to a standard CPU

Wat would the equivalent be of 3.0Ghrt dual core be in standard CPU terms?

thx lea0001
__________________

lea0001 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the 805 isn't the greatest of processors unless you do a lot of multi-threaded work like video encoding or overclock the crap out of it. although if you are comparing it to a 3.0ghz celeron i would take the pentium D 805 over that. you can get far better prices than $230 for the 805 as well. it averages about $200 from what i've seen. at nintek.com.au you could get the pentium D 830 which is 3.0ghz for $299. you can't really equate dual cores to single core processes because they have certain advantages. for instance an x2 3800+ (2.0ghz dual core) can perform as far as 8x better than an FX-57 (2.8ghz single core) in certain multi-tasking situations. in gaming and single threaded applications dual cores perform basically the same as an equivelantly clocked single core except with far better multi-tasking ability. in multi-threaded applications like video encoding and some games dual cores anhialate single cores
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

out of interest what games right now support dual core, i am not aware of any?
__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

When patched, I know of FEAR and COD2.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

atm, none.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
atm, none.
no, FEAR and COD2 do support dual cores with patches, as does Quake 4.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 06:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

what baout oblivion i heard it does
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.