dual core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default dual core

i bought my comp almost exactily a year ago and got the 64 bit intel, i later found out that intel's 64 bit dosent stand up to amd's but i have played around a little with xp 64 bit and all i noticed was that a lot of drivers were unsupported and there was a lot of uncompatable software (daemon tools is which is the main reason i still use x86) and i was looking in my device manager and i found this

i was under the impression that 64 bit and dual core were different things, does this mean that my cpu is dual core?

nickbeaton is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245

this PROBABLY means that you have a hyperthreading CPU which makes Windows THINK there are 2 cores when there's only 1

jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18

oooooh yea i also got the hyper threading thingy too, so this means there IS a difference between dual core and 64 bit right? and how do i find out what i have because i need to know if i should upgrade or not, i dont think i ned to upgrade my cpu just yet it was pretty ahead of its time when i bought it althought i wish i had bought amd i still dont mind this because it will run 64bit which is all i really cared about when i got it
nickbeaton is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261

yeah dual core is diff than 64 bit
wiouxev is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 410
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18

do u know what your cpu is exactly? everest/cpu-z type of apps will tell you some specs then report back here, if you had a dual core you would probably know, or you could just go into system specs in control panel to figure out a good idea of what you have
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65

what will you be running that would require you to upgrade?
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 04:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

if you bought it more than a year ago it is definitely just hyperthreaded. 64 bit and dual core are two ENTIRELY different technologies
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18

no i know its 64 bit and its hyper threading, as for the upgrade i just plan to keep up with gaming and its moving quite rapidly, when i bought the machine it could run anything out on high, then bf2 came out all medium then F.E.A.R. and a bunch of other games like them but thats just my video card holding mt back im pretty sure. i think i found something under device manager, under the details tab it says, APCI\GENUINEINTEL_-_X86_FAMILY_15_MODEL_4\_0
thats the device instance id.
nickbeaton is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

k go to google, type in CPU-Z and download it, and tell us what it says.

If ur going to upgrade. save ur money till this summer then decide, conroe comes out, G80s come out, UNREAL TOURNAMENT 2007!!!!!!
john3 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18

hah yea and im glad i read somewhere on a forum to wait to upgrade my video card til Direct X 10 or ill be sorry, im so happy i found that because i almost bought a new card a few weeks ago.

nickbeaton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.