dual-channeling question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default dual-channeling question

is it possible to dual-channel ram with 4 sticks?
Cause in my motherboard manual it says in some sort of way that it will but im not sure about it.
__________________

__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yes it is. I believe on your mobo there is 4 slots of ram and two are black and two are blue. The ram that you put in the two black slots will run in dual channel and the ram that you put in the blue slots will run in dual channel. I am pretty sure of this but someone might have to correct me if I am wrong.


P.S. this is kind of topic but how do you like that motherboard? I was considering buying it because I liked how ii has agp and pci-E.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Make sure you have identical pairs when using dual channel.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

The board is great. Because I was stuck with agp for a while and have upgrading planned I chose this one. The specs are great and had no problems at all installing it.
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Wow, they piled alot onto that board. It's unreal. I have some questions about the following picture.


MB Picture

I assume the yellow slot is PCIx16?
I assume the beige slot beside it is PCIx1?
What is the really little slot slot between what I think is the PCIx1 and the AGP slot?
Also, do most new boards have both ATA compatibility and SATA?
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

the PCIex16 slot is the looonger beige colored slot. The stubby little slot is the PCIex1. The AGP is the brown one with the sticker on it.

Most new boards DO have ATA and Serial ATA150 ports. The board you have picked out here looks like it only has 1 Serial ATA150 port.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Thanks, but I guess I have more questions.

- What is the yellow slot with the sticker?
- What are PCIx1 slots used for?
- I'm assuming the blue slot and the one beside it are the IDE ports, what is the port beside the last PCI slot?
- Is the thing that says ASRock a chipset heatsink?
- What is the silver heatsink cooling? Integrated graphics?
- What are the ports/slots right above the silver heatsink?

Thanks. Those are my last and final questions. Thank you
__________________

klein1jo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.