Dual Channel and RAM settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default Dual Channel and RAM settings

ok, so i just made myself a new PC, total overhall on all components apart from my optical drives hdd's and RAM.

My Mobo ( DFI Infinit nFroce 4 SLI) Supports dual channel ram, which is fine, as i was building my computer i plugged into it my 2 generic 512kb pc3200 ddr400 RAM chips...once completted my system build, it quiet happily has been running in dual channel mode.

My question is, along with my old PC i also had 2 x 256mb Samsung Ram chips, but running at PC2700. Now i have installed these into my system as well , so i have a total og 1.5gb ram, running in dual channel mode. My concern, which may be silly, is because the 2 256 ram is pc2700 would that make the over all dual channel bandwidth lower than just my 2 512 pc3200 chips? if so would i get better performance with just 2 x 512 pc3200 dual channel?

Reagards

AMD Athlon 64 4000+
DFI Infinty nFrorce 4 SLI
1.5gb RAM Dual Channel ( currently)
Gainward 256 Geforce 7900GS Golden Sample Bliss
Creative SB Audigy 4
Maxtor SATA 200gb
Maxtor SATA 60gb
__________________

Marvels is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Default

If you have PC3200 ram with slower ram, eg PC2700, then your PC3200 RAM will run at PC2700 which isnt too good. If i were you i would stick to PC3200 RAM.
__________________

roderz is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

so 1gb worth of ram at pc3200 running in dual channel is better than 1.5gb of ram made up of 2 pc3200 and 2 pc2700?
Marvels is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Default

That i dont really know, If you are using a 1GB PC3200 module then i would get a 512MB PC3200 module to run in dual channel mode with. If you have got it set like that then your pc3200 will be running at pc2700, slower memory can cause lag and hitching in games. Im currently running a 1gb pc3200 with a 512mb pc3200 module and i get great performance.
roderz is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanks for your quick reply, but i do not think you have read my post correctly, i have 2 sticks of pc3200 512, i can run them in DC mode, no problem, i also i have 2 sticks of pc2700 256, i can install all 4 sticks and run in DC mode, no worries...the question is, would i get better performance with just the 2 512 sticks as they are pc3200, or would i get better performance with 2 pc3200 and 2 pc2700 sticks
Marvels is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Default

you will get better performance 2x pc3200 and 2x pc2700 mainly because you have more ram. But i do recommend getting a 512mb pc3200 module to replace those pc2700 modules. If you can afford it then you could have 4x512mb pc3200 = 2gb RAM.

Just out of interest, what videocard do you have?
roderz is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Though 1.5gb of ram is more than 1gb of ram, mny questioning was in the face that the pc2700 sticks would reduce the over all bandwidth, so i was wondering performance wise if 1gb of DC ram running at pc3200 is better than 2 x pc3200 and 2x pc2700....

Again in my top post it says :

Gainward Bliss Geforce 7900gs Golden Sample clocked at 500mhz/1400mhz respectivly
Marvels is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Default

soz, i missed it, 1gb ram at pc3200 is better
__________________

roderz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.