DSL Modem connection options? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2007, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default DSL Modem connection options?

hiya just got dsl from dial up and i was wondering if the usb connection or the ethernet would be faster? i know usb 2.0 is 480mbps and ehter can be 10mb/100/1000mbps .. what is better? for dsl ?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Use ethernet.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yeah i thought so but... i was just wondering bc 2.0 runs at 480mbps and ethernet is usually 100mbps.... wouldnt the usb be faster? i think im going to use the ethernet anyway...
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

There probably wouldn't be much of a speed difference since your dsl probably won't even use up 10mbps. Plus ethernet is more the standard and drivers aren't needed to set up the connection.

You'll probably need drivers for the usb and uses more of the cpu too.
brinks is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brinks
There probably wouldn't be much of a speed difference since your dsl probably won't even use up 10mbps. Plus ethernet is more the standard and drivers aren't needed to set up the connection.

You'll probably need drivers for the usb and uses more of the cpu too.
Yes in my house we have three computers and we are all on a network, My pc connects to our Router hooked up to our DSL modem that is in my paren'ts room, even thought they ahve a ****ty dell, thee sinternet is faster than my internet becuse they get connection direct with the ethernet, if you can get ethernet than use it, its hella better.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Yes in my house we have three computers and we are all on a network, My pc connects to our Router hooked up to our DSL modem that is in my paren'ts room, even thought they ahve a ****ty dell, thee sinternet is faster than my internet becuse they get connection direct with the ethernet, if you can get ethernet than use it, its hella better.
Maybe you didn't set up your router or your computer correctly, there shouldn't be any difference even if you hook up to a router or directly to the modem.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brinks
Maybe you didn't set up your router or your computer correctly, there shouldn't be any difference even if you hook up to a router or directly to the modem.
you sure?, because its a kown fact that if you have multiple clients on a network, the network will lag a little, since peopel are sharing the connection ay?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 01:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
you sure?, because its a kown fact that if you have multiple clients on a network, the network will lag a little, since peopel are sharing the connection ay?
Of course the internet connection will be slower if you have 2 or more people using the internet connection at the same time since you only have a limited amount of bandwidth that is being shared.

However, just by itself connecting directly to the modem or to a router the speed should be the same as long as 1 person is using the connection at that time.

I still don't quite understand how your internet speed could be slower than your parents if it's connected to the same router since your all on the same network, both you and your parents computer will have the same amount of congestion on it. Unless your saying that you are connected to your router wireless, and your parents are connected physically to the router with an ethernet cable.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Always use ethernet if possible. While USB2.0 may have a 480 connection, it won't use it all.

Besides, using ethernet will allow you to add a router to the scheme of things, so you can add other computers to the mix, plus wireless.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brinks
There probably wouldn't be much of a speed difference since your dsl probably won't even use up 10mbps.
no doubt.
my wireless gets max speed of 1800kbps (180mbpslol) and transfer of about 225kbps, download. upload varies from 50-90% of that.
which really kicks @$$ for wireless "i live in the sticks" internet.
keep in mind i think (think is the key word here) the 10/100/1000 is actually download rate, not transfer rate. but i could be wrong...there's a first time for eveything lol.

__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.