do it work??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2009, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Question do it work???

hey all i am a pc gamer and its about that time to get a new computer, but this time i want to assemble it my self. are these compatible with eachother?,any sugestions? please throw them my way.
parts
cpu: Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9650 $316.00
motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard $119.99
memory:Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X 4096MB PC8500 Memory - DDR2 1066MHz Dual Channel (2x2048) CL5
$128.99
harddrive:Seagate ST31000528AS Barracuda 7200.12 Hard Drive - 1TB, 7200 rpm, 32MB, SATA-3G
$84.99
graphicscard : PNY GeForce GTX 260 Video Card $170.00
powersupply:Ultra X3 ULT40312 850-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, PCI-E Ready, Energy Efficient, Modular, Lifetime Warranty
$169.99
discdrive:Sony DDU-1615 DVD Drive - 16x DVD-ROM, 48x CD-ROM $19.99<--- I know it sux D:
monitor:VX1962wm 19" Widescreen LCD $139.99
case:Antec 12 Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $159.99

total price: $1309.93

i am willing to spend up to #1500.00 on this computer, i dont mind if it is alil over kill either.

ty in advanced. xD

P.S.some of these prices may vary sum are discount from stores near me.
__________________

RoZoR is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: do it work???

With that budget you'd be much better off going with an i7 instead of a Core 2 Quad.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: do it work???

ty but this will all work together??? i need windows 7 wich costs money unless........
any more suggestions two hardrives? or maybe anothe 4 gig ram, also i plan on using two monitors if that makes a difference, i already have one
RoZoR is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: do it work???

Two hard drives, I suggest a small, fast drive for the OS (WD Black series), and a larger, slower drive for general storage.
You're unlikely to need more than 4GB of RAM, but it's up to you. You probably won't see much difference between 4GB and 8GB.
Two monitors is fine.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: do it work???

You're putting too much money on old technology. Socket 775 is old and nearing its end, and C2Q isn't the best value out there. $316 for that cpu - heck, an i7 920 is cheaper!! (i'm assuming thats US dollars..)

That video card is about the same price as a 4890, which has better performance, so i recommend you go for that. And the Ultra PSU is quite pricy, and ultras aren't known for their reliability. Switch it out with a Corsair or Antec brand. It may well be a good PSU, but $170 seems a bit much! I'm now wondering if those are US dollars after all...

Anyways, i feel you should go more along the lines of:

Intel i7 + mobo = $500
3 X 2GB DDR3 = $150
4890 = $180
_____________
total: $830 for the core of your PC.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Question Re: do it work???

cpu:Intel® Core™ i7-920 Processor (8M Cache, 2.66 GHz, 4.80 GT/s Intel® QPI) $284
motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard $119.99
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
memory:Corsair XMS3 Tri Channel 6GB PC12800 DDR3 Memory - 1600MHz, 6144MB (3 x 2048)
$163.99
harddrive:Seagate ST31000528AS Barracuda 7200.12 Hard Drive - 1TB, 7200 rpm, 32MB, SATA-3G
$84.99
graphicscard : PNY GeForce GTX 260 Video Card $170.00<-------sorry but i dun like ATI
powersupply:Corsair TX850W Power Supply - 850W, ATX, 80Plus
$109.99
discdrive:Sony DDU-1615 DVD Drive - 16x DVD-ROM, 48x CD-ROM $19.99
monitor:VX1962wm 19" Widescreen LCD $139.99
case:Antec 12 Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $159.99

total price: $1248.97
price without monitor: $1108.98

is this more like what you ment saves lots of money and very good suggestions
is this fully compatible?
any suggestions on another mother board?
RoZoR is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: do it work???

Yes thats more like it! As for the motherboard, you need a socket 1366 for that cpu. something like this:

Newegg.com - ASRock X58 Deluxe LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

As for not liking ATI, you don't need to like them to appreciate better performance/value :P. I don't like intel, but i'd take an i7 anyday over a phenom

And as for monitor, i recommend this one:

Newegg.com - Acer H213H bmid Black 21.5&#34; 5ms HDMI Full HD 1080P Widescreen 16&#58;9 LCD Monitor 300 cd&#47;m2 ACM 20000&#58;1 Built-in Speakers - LCD Monitors

If you have a lot of money left over, you should get a 5850 or even 5870. You'll get Crazy performance!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: do it work???

great Mother board but not quite the specs i want for the monitor thanks for all the help man u should be getting paid for this, if i remember to i let you know how epic or big of a screwup it turns out to be
__________________

RoZoR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7 GreenMan415 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-29-2008 08:21 PM
New guts/old case/will this work? SirLucian System Upgrades 9 12-24-2008 12:49 PM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
Will a EVGA 8600GTS [GDDR3] work in an ECS G31T-M with a Q9550? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2008 06:53 PM
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.