Do PCI cards work with AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Do PCI cards work with AGP

Ok so I got 3 PCI slots and 1 pci gfx card and a brown slot, Ive been told the brown slot is AGP, But the PCI card has alot to many pins to fit in any PCI slots but fits perfectly in the AGP, It is definently a PCI card.

So do pci cards work in an AGP slot?

I reallly doubt it but im just making sure.
__________________

lea0001 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

no.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no, no, no... They shouldn't fit... well, at least you shouldn't be able to line the back of the case up with the back of the card.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Are you sure its a PCI card? If it fits in the AGP slot then its an AGP card............
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

ok... is it a PCI card, or PCI Express?? They are COMPLETLY different.

A PCI-express x4 or x8 card might APPEAR to fit in an AGP slot, but that doesn't mean it will.....

Just cause diesel and water can be PUT in your gas tank, doesn't mean you should put it in there.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.