Do mobos have built in thermal shutdown protection? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Do mobos have built in thermal shutdown protection?

My cousin said his mobo did, turns out I have the exact same mobo he does. I can't find specs anywhere for this sort of thing. Is it possible? Do they come with them default set or do you have to configure it in the bios to activate it?


Mobo: MSI K8N Neo4 939
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

All "Newer" Mobos have a cpu temp gauge under the actual CPU... I would check the advanced chipset options in your bios for any kind of heat protection option.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

Yes i believe that model has one, defaulted at 160 degrees
you can change the default in the advanced bios settings
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhillipBelcher
Yes i believe that model has one, defaulted at 160 degrees
you can change the default in the advanced bios settings
Can an AMD Athlon chip withstand the 160 degree mark?

If so, then even though I messed up (read other thread) with the cpu and heat sink, my cpu should be 100% alive. (I don't have thermal compound yet to test it).
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

its shaky, ive seen some blow at 160 f and some be fine at 160 f
what model mobo do you have?
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I wouldn't push the temps on the cpu if i were you... Obviously Its better safe than sorry. Depending on the cpu you have the temp threshold will differ.

If you have stock HS/Fan you should be ok as long as your not OCing the thing to death.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhillipBelcher
its shaky, ive seen some blow at 160 f and some be fine at 160 f
what model mobo do you have?
MSI K8N Neo4

The other thing is, my system didn't shut off... so I never reached 160F...
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
I wouldn't push the temps on the cpu if i were you... Obviously Its better safe than sorry. Depending on the cpu you have the temp threshold will differ.

If you have stock HS/Fan you should be ok as long as your not OCing the thing to death.
I'm not OCing anything. This is a side question from my other thread.

I got excited putting my first pc together, turned the tower on to check and make sure all of the fans and cdrom drives worked. Then I realized that I didn't have the heat sink on the CPU and shut the system down myself. It was on for about 10 seconds, max.
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
I got excited putting my first pc together, turned the tower on to check and make sure all of the fans and cdrom drives worked. Then I realized that I didn't have the heat sink on the CPU and shut the system down myself. It was on for about 10 seconds, max.


This shouldn't be a problem, I wouldn't worry about it if it was only for about 10 seconds or so. Did you get power to everything when you did this ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci


This shouldn't be a problem, I wouldn't worry about it if it was only for about 10 seconds or so. Did you get power to everything when you did this ? [/B]
CD rom drives had a green light, fans went on, LEDs on front of case went on. I heard no beeps. Then I shut the system down.

Some people in my other thread were like OMG ONE SECOND CAN KILL IT.

I spoke to my cousin and he seemed shady that even 10 could kill it considering the mobo I have... who knows.

Gonna sleep for 2 hours, then I'm gonna head out to get the compound and find out for myself!!
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.