Do I need to upgrade my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2015, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 5
Default Do I need to upgrade my system?

Hi, I have been saving hundreds of pounds and looking to spend a little, on PC parts? I do not know. My current rig seems to be decent, recently though I have been having problems on some games like Metro Redux, Dragon Age: Inquisition, Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and Far Cry 4 with FPS performance. I always have to downgrade and tweak with the settings to get a good performance, I can't run them at max settings and that is frustrating me.

I can't seem to play at 30 FPS so I try my best to achieve 60 FPS in every game that I play, anything below that I seem to get headaches. Yet I can play on the PS4 on 30 FPS and be fine. Strange I know. What bugs me the most is I spent loads on a system that can't seem to cope well on some games at the highest settings.

My Rig is as follows.

GPU: AMD Radeon R9 290 4GB Memory
CPU: Intel Core I7-3770 3.40 GHZ
RAM: 16 GB 2x8GB 1600MHz DDR3 Dual Channel
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UP4
Power-Supply: XFX 900W
SSD: 250GB Samsung

All of the above are on stock settings, I do not have a clue about overclocking.

Playing at 1440P with the U27 Dell monitor.

Is it time for an upgrade? and if so what upgrades would be best? I don't have a minimum or a maximum limit on expenditure. Of course the cheaper overall the better.
__________________

Raspii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

The problem being is your resolution. You don't have enough graphics horsepower to properly push 1440p.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 5
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

A friend of mine thinks I could do with a CPU upgrade which would mean a new CPU, motherboard and RAM. If I was to go down that road and upgrade multiple parts I would probably need some suggestions.

What would I need on the graphics card front? When I bought the R9 290 last year to replace the 7970 which was part of the existing build (died) it was still a new card.

As much as I like the PC, I know very little about hardware, in the past I just targeted whatever the newest product was at the time (within budget) hopefully this time if I do need the required upgrades I can be much more sensible with the way I go about things. That is partially why I signed up to a techy forum.

In the near future I'm looking to venture into Youtube or Twitch so a strong system is a must. Hopefully not too pricey for good performance in that sort of thing.
Raspii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

your CPU is fine, But to properly run 1440 at 60 frames your going to need more GPU power, You'll either need to get a higher priced GPU or crossfire what you have, at 1080 you should have no issues on most games but at 1440 it's going to struggle and you'll get low FPS.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 5
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
your CPU is fine, But to properly run 1440 at 60 frames your going to need more GPU power, You'll either need to get a higher priced GPU or crossfire what you have, at 1080 you should have no issues on most games but at 1440 it's going to struggle and you'll get low FPS.
Should I get another R9 290 to go alongside the one I have currently or buy a singular R9 290X 8192MB card?
Raspii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

290x isn't that much better. If you want to buy a newer card for that res I suggest a 980 or just wait until new cards from either camp.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 5
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
290x isn't that much better. If you want to buy a newer card for that res I suggest a 980 or just wait until new cards from either camp.
Will I see a big enough gain to justify the 500 price? I could definitely not afford 2 980's in SLI anytime soon if I'm left disappointed with only a minimal performance gain.

I wish I understood everything about hardware :/. Read so many different threads about 970 SLI, 780TI SLI, 980, Radeon 290 Crossfire and I still don't have a clue what is meant to be the best as a single card or as an SLI setup.

Recording and playing games with max graphics at 1440P with 60 FPS on just about any game including high intensity multiplayer servers is all I want. Price is definitely an issue though if I threw 500 at the NVIDIA 980 and didn't see much of an improvement based on the one card.
Raspii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

With what you want realistically it's pony up the cash for high end dual cards or wait until more affordable powerful cards hit the market. 1440p is an enthusiast resolution and as of right now we don't have any single GPU solutions that can properly take on that resolution without a lot of cash being tossed at GPUs. Your best bet would be SLI 970s.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Student & Lover of Games
 
XGC Forsakend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

Is 1440p really a necessity? Would buying a 1080p monitor be an option to avoid down scaling or anything of that sort? Would definitely be cheaper than buying 2 980's.
XGC Forsakend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Do I need to upgrade my system?

Yes that would work, My 970 maxes all the games I've put in and get 60 FPS min in most things, real busy areas in BF4 with a Tom of people there can cause a few dips but still great frame rates.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to upgrade old system...help needed.. sumik System Upgrades 4 02-09-2009 12:06 PM
Random system reboot after system upgrade. suppafreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-26-2006 03:02 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM
System Upgrade - Need Help VelvetyAmoeba Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-19-2005 09:01 PM
Nedd To Back Up Old Windows Nt System To A New System. Need Help And Suggestion. th Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-04-2004 12:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.