Do I need to install the motherboard's driver? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default Do I need to install the motherboard's driver?

Reformating and reinstalling XP Pro.
Do I need to install the motherboard,s drivers or will everything be on the XP cd?
__________________

BKSinAZ is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

You may have to install drivers for on-board sound, video, ethernet or an other on-board components. Also, after loading XP, you should check online for updated drivers.

EDIT: Sorry for the short post.. I was at the gym on the eliptical machine, and this took me 10 minutes to type on the touch screen keyboard... lol
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default chipset drivers?

but what about the onboard chipset? Does windows xp have them built in?
BKSinAZ is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

It is hard to say... I don't know which drives are on the XP disc, let alone what kind of motherboard and what chipset it has.

Your best bet to avoid difficulties would be to use the Motherboard disc to load all of the required drivers, and then look for updated drivers online... It is a toss up, either it will or won't have the drivers...

Example: My old computer:

AMD 2400+ XP
ASUS A7V8X Mobo
ATI Radeon 9800 AIW

In order to install the newest Windows 2000 video card driver on that PC, I have to update the VIA chipset drivers on the mobo after installing the OS. With a different AGP card I had (can't remember make & model), no chipset update was needed.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wait a minute? they have a touch screen monitor in your gym? what gym do you go to, cause i wanna sign up.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

LOL.. it is a small gym in the Chicago Suburbs.... the touchscreen isn't the greatest, and the resolution plain sucks..... HOWEVER... you can also watch cable TV on it, so it is pretty cool.... I just jam with my iPod, and (try) to surf the web....

[/threadhijack]
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i c. thats pretty cool.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

Windows XP should have drivers for the chipset that will work to get you up-n-running. I would recommend once you get your internet up again to go to the mobo website and download the latest drivers. XP and the disc that came with your mobo may have old drivers...I do this routine when I build new systems.
__________________

bigbaddog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.