do i need this floppy disk? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 50
Default do i need this floppy disk?

i am building the gaming pc and do you think the floppyDisk still need ?and can anyone here show me how to transfer all program on old HD to new HD with windown xp.I try to copy but program does not work.or i have to install again all the program????
__________________

caliman is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by caliman View Post
i am building the gaming pc and do you think the floppyDisk still need ?and can anyone here show me how to transfer all program on old HD to new HD with windown xp.I try to copy but program does not work.or i have to install again all the program????
I doubt you will need a floppy drive on a gaming pc anymore. But if you still use it for work or whatever I guess it could come in handy if you still use it.
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase-Six View Post
I doubt you will need a floppy drive on a gaming pc anymore. But if you still use it for work or whatever I guess it could come in handy if you still use it.
right... only use of a Floppy Drive now is because most come with a media card reader... and it used to be for RAID drivers, but now you can use your jump drive or another CD to do it...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

I don't think floppys are necessary anymore.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

same here...theyre outdated and un reliable.
I work at the college...and i have so many students that loose their hw because they get damaged easily.

I would just get a media card reader with one or an ext floppy drive if you need it really bad.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

What about for flashing graphics cards BIOS'? Are floppy's necessary for that?
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

my raid drivers are on a floppy, and it's a new mobo!! so should I just use a floppy for that then take it back out? (have like 4 or 5 hanging around)
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

use nlite to rewrite the windows disk so all drivers are included never need a floppy again
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

you can flash bios's using flash drives...so throw them floppies outta here.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 04:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: do i need this floppy disk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
you can flash bios's using flash drives...so throw them floppies outta here.
Thanks for clearing that one up. Everywhere I read they said you must have a floppy, but I knew that there was another way.
__________________

__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk drive problems! Bl4ckDmon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-27-2007 08:29 PM
PC Build Error: Floppy disk(s) fail (40) coreysnyder04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-19-2007 11:17 PM
Hard disk trouble TheMajor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2007 07:54 PM
SATA disk problem uNN4m3d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-07-2007 07:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.