display on tv question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2007, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default display on tv question

i bought a new tv for my room and it has a hookup for VGA on the back. should i buy the vga cable or just use s-video? which will look better?

My TV is 27 inch wide screen and i would porobably lower the resolution to make things appear bigger. is VGA the way to go or sVideo? i have a labtop
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: display on tv question

with svideo im not able to keep the widescreen resolutions from my labtop. with a VGA cable will i be able to? or will it still go to the 4:3 ratio?
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: display on tv question

With a VGA cable you should be able to get widescreen resolutions. I have a 32" widescreen HDTV, and I used a VGA cable to connect to a PC. I run it at a resolution of widescreen resolution of 1360 x 768.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Talking Re: display on tv question

I use a 32" as my monitor but that's hooked up dvi to hdmi. However, my vga output is connected to my 56" sharp dlp widescreen's vga input and the quality is amazing! I rarely use my dvd player since the quality from pc to 56" tv is superb.

Stay away from s-video. You will loose lots of picture quality.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
windows 2000 server display problem hiren Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-04-2007 01:31 AM
Widescreen Display (16:9) with Nvidia GeForce 7300le?? discoverydrafting Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-26-2007 04:43 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.