display scaling ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2016, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default display scaling ?

i bought an HDMI cable to replace the VGA cable between my computer and (HDTV) monitor. however, the screen is now displaying so large, that i can not see the red x box to close out a window. i tried changing a few things one at a time (so i could reset them if it did not work), with no luck. and i just now had my son try to fix the issue, but he had no luck at all either. so i have to ask for help again. / also, does an HDMI cable carry sound? i am not sure if there is sound coming thru the HDMI port of my computer or not. but i guess it would be nice if it did. but i will wait to see until i can actually close out a window to try it.
__________________

__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,275
Default Re: display scaling ?

Are you connected to a TV?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default Re: display scaling ?

p.s. the setting right now is 1360 x 768. i do not know if i need to make the numbers smaller (1200 x 600 as an example) or larger ( 1400 x 800) to make the image smaller.
__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default Re: display scaling ?

yes, my "monitor" is a HDTV that is about 5 or 6 years old.
__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,275
Default Re: display scaling ?

Is 1360 x 768 the recommended resolution for it? Are you still using the IGP? If you're using the IGP, the Intel Graphics options will have scaling options for TVs. If using an Nvidia graphics card they have it in the NVCP.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default Re: display scaling ?

yes, 1360 x 768 is the recommended setting. and yes, i am using Intel igp only, no graphics card. i finally found how to change the setting, (in a Intel menu) so i shrank it down to 1280 x 720. that scaled down the window more than enough. however, i still can only see a sliver of the bottom "tool" bar (i know that is not the name of it, but i have a block right now). so is there some place else that i can change a setting, that will allow all of the screen to be seen? its like i need to remove 1/2" off the screen housing. i am pretty sure i will need a custom setting. which is fine. i do not mind playing with it to get it correct, once i find the correct place to do so.
__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,275
Default Re: display scaling ?

There should also be settings on the TV to help as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default Re: display scaling ?

i thought about that last night just before i went to sleep. now i will just have to try to find them.
__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 09:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 639
Default Re: display scaling ?

well, so much for changing settings in the TV itself. as far as the picture size goes, it will only let me choose between preset size configurations, like standard (old CRT size), wide, zoom (aprox 10% increase) which makes matters worse, and cinema (which is aprox 20% increase). there is an advanced section listed, but it is not select-able (will not highlight). i guess that is part of the difference between high dollar and El cheapo TV's. at this point my thoughts are, i am going to watch a couple of videos and see if my eyes can even notice a difference between VGA & HDMI. if i can not, i will just go back to VGA, and save the HDMI cable for something else.
__________________

__________________
HP a1720n upgraded to MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB + oem WD 320gb, HP DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Dynex 350W PSU
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get a display, cannot fix display issue with no display Rgortiz3 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-15-2009 05:34 PM
Scaling back my internet service Glyph Internet Software and Browsers 2 10-25-2007 07:28 PM
Widescreen - Aspect Ratio Scaling Problems Jewels Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-02-2007 03:50 PM
Flat Panel Scaling steveasorus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-02-2007 08:51 PM
scaling down a high end choice. Burton New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-06-2005 03:06 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.