Display driver has stopped .... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

I had to go and look to see what you were talking about...

Yes, you can use this with a 32-bit OS. The 64-bit it mentions is the memory interface of the card. Basically, that is how fast the card can access its own memory. It has nothing to do with your operating system. The newer cards use 256-bit memory interfaces, but work just fine in 32-bit systems.

No worries.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 05:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Thanks!

I'm gonna do it!
__________________

Sandi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 02:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Let me the first to tell you... HP's Compaq tech support site sucks, and the number scheme sucks just as bad. I put in "Presario SR511onx" and it says there are over 300 models listed for it... Sheesh!

Anyway, if you have a 6150 chipset, you should have a PCI-E x16 slot on your motherboard. It is hard to figure what the actual problem is without more information. What exactly does the error message say? Letting Microsoft fix anything is asking for trouble... trust me.

I can't link you to the proper drivers on HP's website because I don't know exactly which model your's is. I can, however, give you links to Nvidia's drivers for it. Here is the last release:
ForceWare Release 169
And here is the beta release (the drivers are the newest and work, but have not been released for mass distribution and may have some rough spots):
GeForce Release 174

For as low as $25 (for a 7100 GS) you can get a graphics card that will drop right into your computer and bypass the onboard graphics. I would recommend not going for anything less than a 8400 GS, though. Here's a MSI version for $36 with a $10 mail-in rebate:
Newegg.com - MSI NX8400GS-TD256EH GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Trotter,
I got the MSI NX8400GS-TD256EH GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card graphics card and installed it, now my computer screen is black and I can't see how to install the software.

Can I install the software before I install the card?
Sandi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 05:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandi View Post
Trotter,
I got the MSI NX8400GS-TD256EH GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card graphics card and installed it, now my computer screen is black and I can't see how to install the software.

Can I install the software before I install the card?
Did you plug the monitor into the new card?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Did you plug the monitor into the new card?
I hooked everything back up the way it was before I installed the new card.

It is booting up because I can hear the welcome but I cannot see what is hapening on screen.
Sandi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 09:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

You need to connect the monitor to the port on the new video card you installed. Right now you have the monitor connected to the old video card.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 09:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
You need to connect the monitor to the port on the new video card you installed. Right now you have the monitor connected to the old video card.
Thanks!

I'm a real noob and don't know how to do that.

Can you help with step by step direction or at least point me in the right direction, please.
Sandi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 09:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Your monitor is currently plugged into the port circled in red. You need to connect it to a port that looks exactly the same and is located in the area circled in blue.



Hopefully that helps.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 10:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Your monitor is currently plugged into the port circled in red. You need to connect it to a port that looks exactly the same and is located in the area circled in blue.



Hopefully that helps.
Thanks!

Of course that did the trick! Duh!

I appreciate this forum for the professional way you help with even the simplest problem.
Sandi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 10:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Display driver has stopped ....

Thanks, PJ. I missed this one.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
display driver BSOD Dainius Microsoft Windows and Software 11 05-07-2008 04:29 PM
video driver stopped responding mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 16 12-24-2007 02:36 PM
Display Driver Promlem - i think. meat_helmet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-13-2007 04:09 PM
ATI Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver 8.41.7 Osiris Linux and Open Source 0 09-12-2007 08:20 PM
Display driver 'is not working properly' help! Sgt Wild Lion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-27-2007 03:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.