Disabling onboard video - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 11:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

right click on my computer, click "porperties" click device manager, then find display adapters and disable the onboard video and enable your new video card, thats what i had to do with my dell's onboard video.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Windows uses available RAM as well. Are you sure that it's onboard using the RAM instead of Windows?
Yes I'm positive that its the onboard video thats sucking up the ram.

Quote:
Originally posted by MrZucchiniHead
right click on my computer, click "porperties" click device manager, then find display adapters and disable the onboard video and enable your new video card, thats what i had to do with my dell's onboard video.
I've tried that and it did nothing to free up the remaining 32 MB of ram.
480/512 still.
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 02:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
He said that in the BIOS, there wasn't an option to disable onboard video.
Read the post below yours. The device manager in windows and the BIOS are two different things..


after re-reading my post, I understand that i wasnt too clear on what I was trying to say. so maybe you got confused, sorry.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

So is my only option to call hp or email hp and get support over there?
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.