directX question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default directX question

Can graphics cards (like Geforce4 mx 440) that say they run directX 7 run directX 9?
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 64
Default

No, they can't.
__________________

__________________
Julien aka julz

<a href=\"http://www.build-gaming-computers.com\">How to Build Gaming Computers</a>
julz is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 05:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Nope.
jon2231 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

I have that card and I can run any game that doesn't require Pixel/Vertex Shaders.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

thats wierd becaus i have THE CRAPPIEST nvidia vanta 16mb AGP 2x card and World of warcraft installed directX 9.0c
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

DirectX is software, but a graphic card may not have the capabilities to run it. If it doesn't, it defaults to an older version of DirectX.

Main difference is eye candy.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

if i get a graphics card that requires a 250W PSU with +12V/18A and i only have 250W +12v/5A is that smart?
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

also some games will require direct x 9.0c (like everygame released in the last year forwards)
so if u plan on playiong any new games then i say good luk to u
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.