digital graphic card slight problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Question digital graphic card slight problem.

hello im toby im new on this site..

right..so ive just bought a new flat screen tv and was planning to connect it to my computer. but ive found out that the tv is dvi connection being digital and the computer that was my brothers is vga being analogue.. i have been told that i can either just buy a new graphics car which would change the computer to digital like my tv. or to get a gender swap so i can connect the pc and tv together with a dvi cable and a vga cable. my tv manual said i can buy a vga/dvi connector but ive heard they done excist.. ive also been told that the gender swao option might not work properly because the mans never done it before. also would a graphics card which is digital make my computer graphics any better. or just simply change it to digital.. so im just wandering if any knows of the gender swap thing or to just get a new graphics card which he said would be around £50


thanks toby
__________________

emery1990 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

A gender changer unfortunatly wouldn't work becuase you cannot change a Analogue signal to a digital system very well. A new GPU will make the graphics quicker and is probably easier than trying to get hold of a converter for a TV from analogue to digital. The graphics card will probably be a bit cheaper than £50 id say about £30 if you did it yourself. A nVidia 6200 would do the trick if you're only analogue now!

Ruan
__________________

RGELLIS is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

This is what you need.

You will not notice a difference between using a VGA to DVI converter vs a comparable video card that has a DVI output.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

alrite..thanks i have got a new cable and it's all working fine now apart from i cant play dvd's
emery1990 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.