Difference in Intel/AMD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2007, 05:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

Alright, i see.
__________________

LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

I don't think you get what vernong was trying to state.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere
Posts: 2
Send a message via MSN to westside4live
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinteenNinetySeven View Post
Howdy.

I was checking out the requirements for some games and I noticed this

I was curious as to what that ment, I always figured a 2.8 was a 2.8 (only lately have I realized thats just not how it works anymore) ...can someone explain?
Single core AMD 3000 is more powerfull than an intel 2.8ghz.
The reason is that AMD has a higher FSB,and the support of hypertransport,which have a great impact on the processor's performance.
Single cores-AMD is more powerfull,and cheaper
Dual cores- Intel is way more powerfull,as the core 2 duo can swipe the X2 in all angles
Quad cores- Intel(for now),as AMD are still working on their opterons after a massive failure.
Future seems bad for AMD...never thought it would happen,lol
westside4live is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

So, let me see...

An AMD 3600+ (single core) is not equal to a 3.6GHz, the 3600+ is just a model number... but a single core amd 2.8 would run faster than an intel 2.8 because they're built completely different? You can't compare GHz between the two companies.. And AMD has better performance at the single core level, but for now intel has the better chips at a dual core level?
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinteenNinetySeven View Post
So, let me see...

An AMD 3600+ (single core) is not equal to a 3.6GHz, the 3600+ is just a model number... but a single core amd 2.8 would run faster than an intel 2.8 because they're built completely different? You can't compare GHz between the two companies.. And AMD has better performance at the single core level, but for now intel has the better chips at a dual core level?
yes... and quad-core... the Intel Extreme Editions beat the quad-fx.. but amd and Intel will be pulling out some new processors soon.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Difference in Intel/AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by westside4live View Post
Single core AMD 3000 is more powerfull than an intel 2.8ghz.
The reason is that AMD has a higher FSB,and the support of hypertransport,which have a great impact on the processor's performance.
Actually, it's a lot more to do with the 12-stage pipelines (lower is better) that can process 3 IPC (higher is better). The Pentium 4's had a 31 stage pipeline that could only process 2 IPC.
the HyperTransport bus does make a difference, but not as much.

Quote:
Single cores-AMD is more powerfull,and cheaper
Dual cores- Intel is way more powerfull,as the core 2 duo can swipe the X2 in all angles
depends which dual core you're talking about.
Pentium D's were terrible.
AMD's 4600+ > E6300
AMD's 6000+ is roughly equal to an E6600 at stock
E6750 will generally perform better than AMD's CPU's
Q6800 will perform better than AMD's CPU's (but costs far too much)

AMD's upcoming K10 processors will increase their IPC to 4, their FPU's to 128-bit, their HTT bus up to 4GHZ, add 2MB L3 cache, put all four cores on one die sharing the L3 cache, vastly improve the caching and prefetching system, add out of order execution, can skip L3 and L2 cache entirely, and generally get instructions to the core faster.

Quote:
Quad cores- Intel(for now),as AMD are still working on their opterons after a massive failure.
What failure?
Opterons stole a lot of market share from Xeons.

Quote:
Future seems bad for AMD...never thought it would happen,lol
see above.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
Samsung D900 vs D900i, is there a difference? Sydzy Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 2 08-07-2007 04:12 AM
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.