Difference between sempron64 and sokcet A sempron? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Difference between sempron64 and sokcet A sempron?

I was wondering about my computer. I have a sempron 2800 socket A and i was looking to upgrade my motherboard to a better socket A mobo because my mobo now really sux. Lookign at the prices they are kind of expensive for just a sokcet A motherboard. Is it worth it just to get a s754 sempron 64 and buy a s754 mobo? Or is the sA and s754 sempron not really that big? Can someone suggest me something i am in a little bit of a pickle.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, a socket 754 will outperform a socket a with a similar number. It has 64 bit processing, and works differently. It's like an Athlon XP 2800, or an Athlon 64 2800. The Athlon 64 is going to win.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

so do you think i should keep my socket A sempron buy a good sA mobo with a nf2. or should i buy a sempron 64 2800 and an avergae mobo for it?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

well, I'm not sure exactly why your current motherboard 'sucks.' If I were you, I'd sit on the cash and save up for a new build. No use upgrading it. It's kinda getting to that age where upgrading isn't really helping a lot, but it's costing you a little more than you wish it would.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you've already got a Sempron 2800+ then it's not worth spending the money on a Sempron 64
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

well the main reason is my sempron is socket A so it is at 333mhz fsb. Aslo my mobo "sucks" beause it only has agp 4x and my 6600 is agp 8x also it only has pc2700 and it doesn't support dual channel memory.
Last it is weak at overclokcing i can barely get 200mhz. Now what do you guys think? What should i buy?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

one other thing. I have a micro ATX case so if i buy a motherboard it has to be mATX, but all the good mobo's are ATX. This is the only s939 mATX mobo with agp 8x.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131558

do you think i would be good with this board or do you suggest u buy an ATX case that way i can get good ATX mobo's?

on my first build I messed up and i didnt buy future proof parts so now i wanna do ith the right way i dont just want to buy it now and then have to spend money later. I already made that mistake once that's h=why i am asking for all this help. sorry for being kind of nooby.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default

You should be looking at S754 boards not S939 if your going for a Sempron 64. I would wait to upgrade though.
iceware is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

save your cash for the moment until you can afford s939 and a nice cpu unless your current pc is that painful.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 05:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
save your cash for the moment until you can afford s939 and a nice cpu unless your current pc is that painful.
yes, because upgrading to a Sempron 64 will not give you much of an advantage over your current Sempron 2800+ so it's not worth the money
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.