difference between DDR and DDR-II RAMs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2005, 12:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

The next dual core opteron is supposed to have DDR2 support.....
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 05:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

so when you overclock the system, you need to ensure your mobo, ram is all overclocked.
how much overclocking can be achieved?

is 3-3-3 a latency of 3
what is 3-4-4?

is latency associated with the first read or write or is it associated with every read or write?

some one told me that ECC is only worth buying if you are running a server, is that correct?

i was under the impression that one cant mix and match memories, isnt that the case a few years back and now with the new mobos one can mix and match memories?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 08:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think you might find some OCing answers here.

ECC RAM is used when the motherboard requires it. Consequently, you will generally only find ECC RAM on server motherboards.

You can mix and match RAM to some extent. You can mix different sizes of modules, and you can even mix different speeds, like PC3200 and PC2700, although if you have slower RAM in the mix, all RAM will run at the slower speed. I covered such things in my RAM guide
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 08:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shdwsclan
The next dual core opteron is supposed to have DDR2 support.....
And by that, you probably meant that the next AMD socket (M2) will support DDR2.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 09:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thansk for the reply

you mean to say there are some mobo's which can only take ecc wnd some which can accept ecc or non-ecc.

when yo usay "You can mix and match RAM to some extent.", what do you mean by extent?

with latency is 3-3-3 the same as cl 3, what is 3-4-4?

just checked the RAM in my box, it is a crucial 512 MB cl3 stick, i guess this means that if i stick in 2 sticks of 512 MB cl2.5, they still will have a latency of cl3, since that is the slowest latency, correct?

what do you think, kingston, crucial or corsair for memories?

also in this link they talk about matched memories
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...=62990&_LOC=UK

what is a matched memory?

i was looking for memories and i came across this link
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...=66399&_LOC=UK

what does 3-3-3-8 mean here and what does it mean by unbuffered

in this link it states that it is an upgrade for asus a7v8x-x

i thought the memory modules could be used with any system
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/MPar...D44971A5CA7304

what do you think of this memory?
http://www.udiggit.com/udiggit/produ...ct/2_MjUwNw==/
KINGSTON (KVR400X64C3A / 1G) 1024 DDR PC3200 DDR400 MODULE
70.73
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
you mean to say there are some mobo's which can only take ecc wnd some which can accept ecc or non-ecc.
I dont know of any mobos that can take both. I'm not saying that such a thing doesnt exist, I just havent come across any.

Quote:
when yo usay "You can mix and match RAM to some extent.", what do you mean by extent?
You can mix different sizes of modules, different speeds, and different latencies. Sometimes, it is not beneficial to do this though. If you mix PC2700 with PC3200, your PC3200 will run at PC2700 speeds.

Quote:
also in this link they talk about matched memories
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...d=62990&_LOC=UK
THats in regards to running RAM in dual channel mode. Dual channel mode is where you are able to run 2 sticks of RAM in a parallel type of way that allows for a little extra bandwidth to and from the RAM.

Quote:
what do you think, kingston, crucial or corsair for memories?
To me, they are all pretty good. Locally, I can get Kingston valueRAM for cheap, and it has a lifetime warranty, so Kingston is kinda favorable for me.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks once gaian for replying to my questions

but mising ecc and non-ecc is not part of the mix and matchj, correct?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 12:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

correct. You cant mix the 2 of them. Not to mention, ECC RAM is pretty useless unless you are running a server that is severely mission-critical, and you cant afford it to have a single error...
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

elbatrop, one more question

i came across some kingston value ram which states that it is good for these gigabyte mobos
Gigabyte - GA-8IG1000 Pro;
Gigabyte - GA-8IG1000/GA-8IG1000-L;
Gigabyte - GA-8IG1000MK/GA-8IG1000MT;
Gigabyte - GA-8IK1100;
Gigabyte - GA-8IP900/GA-8IP900-L/GA-8IP900MK;
Gigabyte - GA-8IPE1000 Pro;
Gigabyte - GA-8IPE1000/GA-8IPE1000-L;
Gigabyte - GA-8IPE1000MK;
Gigabyte - GA-8IPE100MT;
Gigabyte - GA-8KNXP/GA-8KNXP Ultra;
Gigabyte - GA-8PENXP;

my mobo is an gigabyte 81875 ultra, will the RAM memory suitable for the mobo's listed above be good for the 81875 ultra too?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.