difference between DDR and DDR-II RAMs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default difference between DDR and DDR-II RAMs

Hello

what is the difference between DDR and DDR-II RAMs
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

DDR = 184pin
DDR2 = 240 pin
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well most ddr2 runs faster mhz than ddr, but does have much higher timmings so it can achieve that speed.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

184pin DDR is up to 600mhz.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

AMD doesn't support DDR2 as of yet. Therefore only Intel compatibile motherboards can use DDR2 and that is only if they have 240 Pin DDR2 RAM Slots.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Have a look at my Guide to RAM.

This might answer some of your questions.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the replies

i guess if you have ddr mobo's you cant fit ddr2 because they wont fit.
what do you mean by ddr has much higher timings

you guys think ddr is on its way out then, and mobo's that do 240 pin ddr2 does not do ddr?

hey elbatrop, nice article, you mean prices for RAMs in general or for SDRAM have skyrocketed.
so a cas of 2.5 is better than a cas of 3, right?

you know if there is a major difference between kingston and kingstom value ram.

with this memory
KINGSTON KVR400X64C3A/256 256MB PC3200 400MHZ CL3 (3-3-3) DDR DIMM

what does 3-3-3 mean?

have come across 3-4-4, 3-3-3 and just plain 2.5, they all seem to be cas numbers
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

DDR is kinda slowly on its way out. But it wont be obsolete for a while. When the M2 socket comes out for AMD that uses DDR2, then thats when DDR prices will start to go up as DDR2 will be used for new Intel and AMD systems.

You are right in saying that DDR2 is not backwards compatible.

I meant that price for SDRAM has gone up since it is in short supply as most systems these days use DDR RAM.

Well, the difference that you will find between value RAM and non-value RAM is the overclockability. Unless you are overclocking, you wont notice a difference in performance, and are better off getting valueRAM.

3-3-3 refers to the latency ratings. Yes, the lower the latency the better. But, lower latency is considered minor as far a noticable performance differences go.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

DDR2 is a high pincount variant of double data rate memory which processes clock cycles on both the rise and fall of memory refresh rates. DDR2 is capable of achieving higher speeds however in order to do this the modules most sacrifice latency. Therefore if you were to compare DDRI running at 200MHz to DDRII running at 200MHz you'll find that DDRI would infact be faster

DDRII has an advantage in power and thermal specifications, using as little as 1.8v whereas DDRI used 2.6v and up to 2.8v to operate at specified speeds
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 08:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

*pops in*

I have DDR2.

*leaves*
__________________

Ginkotsu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.