Did I get the right ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default Did I get the right ram

I ordered this combination and want to make sure they are compatible.

Motherboard

Ram
__________________

dennykyser is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the ram is slower, then rated ram for the mobo is DDR2-667 and your ram is DDR2- 533 it will just run slower but it will work
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141185

this is what you want
or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145568

but its too late isnt it. whats the different between pc5300 and pc5400 they both run at DDR2- 667
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default

Wow and the faster ram was actually cheaper than what I bought. Man I hate learning after I buy

I was kind of in a hurry to get this new pc built and have learned SOOO much after I ordered everything. Thankfully my dell is still holding up while I figure this thing out.

Now I have 2 banks left, can I get the faster ram to run with the stuff I already have?
dennykyser is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can get the faster rated ram, but they will all run at the slowest stick which is the DDR2- 533. when did you order it. if its in the first couple of steps you can still void it...if not cant you just return it and say i got the wrong ram sorry take it back, lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.