Is DFI LAN Party nf4 compatible with dual core 939? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2007, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default Is DFI LAN Party nf4 compatible with dual core 939?

The specs for my board say it supports AMD 64 and FX series, but not dual core. Is this a type/omission or do some 939 boards only support single cores? Some of the LAN party boards list X2s, some don't. A lot don't list Operton either - if it lists only X2, is Operton out?

XP Pro SP2
AMD 64 3700+
DFI LAN Party nf4 Ultra D
2x 512 Corsair Value PC3200
ThermalTake Venus
2x Western Digital SATA3 80GB
NEC DVD±RW
Samsung CD-RW/DVD
Audigy 2 ZS
GeForce FX6200
Aspire X-Plorer
__________________

patrickc284 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

it is compatable with opteron AND X2.....even if it doesnt list it.....im running an opteron 165 dual core in my lanparty right now....
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah same, just make sure you get the latest BIOS
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

well thats good to hear! i spent all this time when i was researching mobos at the time to make sure it would be one i could upgrade for a while. i was horrified when i thought that i might not be able to put an x2 or opteron in there!

Thanks for the help!
patrickc284 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.