Desktop Memory Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Desktop Memory Cards

im wanting to make my PC run a bit faster, the Memory cards for my PC are DDR2 240 DIMM,

I have added 2GB Memory onto existing Memory, its only showing up as 1GB added, what can i do to rectify this problem?

Paolo is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: Desktop Memory Cards

how much memory did you have in there before? Are you running a 32bit OS?

mahiv87 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Desktop Memory Cards

Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
how much memory did you have in there before? Are you running a 32bit OS?
Yes , its a 32 bit OS, its Windows Vista home Premium Version, i had 3GB before, i put in an 2GB Card , its only showing 4GB when it should be 5,

My Motherboard can take up to 8GB, i dont know why this is happening.
Paolo is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 01:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
SapperX's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Desktop Memory Cards

32 bit OS's can only utilize up to (roughly) 3.5GB's of RAM (memory). Either be content with what you have or upgrade* your OS to 64 bit.

*The fact that this is an upgrade beyond utilizing more RAM is debatable.
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New built computer FREEZES please help!! welchyboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 49 09-14-2008 09:48 PM
Building an epic gaming desktop! Jadchor New Systems | Building and Buying 28 09-09-2008 07:09 AM
How is this memory and will it work with mysetup? ProBaller25 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-22-2008 11:09 PM
Are Smartmedia™ Memory Cards History callmewilson Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-13-2007 12:49 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.