desktop icon pics dissapear. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2006, 07:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

You guys must have alot of time on your hands; you're so quick to reinstall windows. I'd say to start off by running a repair on windows. Reinstalling all your programs and getting everything the way you wanted really sucks.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Yes it without a doubt sucks but sometimes is the answer to getting things fixed. I also suggested reinstalling CS as it could also be the cause of the problem.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

oh well i will just deal with it. It only happens once in a blue moon. I don't know why cause its only CS:S. I play CS:S everyday and this hasn't happened for about 1 month now. Just happened now though. oh well.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i don't think it's a real "problem". it sounds like a glitch from swapping video modes . this may sound crazy but what filesystem is your boot drive/partition? FAT32 or NTFS. FAT32 systems get progressively cluttered over time and one thing that is very noticeable is seek time i.e. if the drive must find a lot of small files on short notice it slows down. icons on the desktop have been known to take incredibly long amounts of time to load on old FAT systems
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 04:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

its NTFS. And the icons got huge images when i just closed CS:S. I was wondering how to take a desktop picture? and then how to get it on this forum? You may have to see it to help me out.

Do you think that my graphics card is getting hot or something?
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
its NTFS. And the icons got huge images when i just closed CS:S. I was wondering how to take a desktop picture? and then how to get it on this forum? You may have to see it to help me out.

Do you think that my graphics card is getting hot or something?
http://builder.com.com/5100-31-5075969.html
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

thanx
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

Its getting alot worse now. In counter strike source this happens. i can't move my mouse, go in reverse, and my sound don't work. Whats wrong? Oh but i can shoot and go forward left and right. The graphics card looked like it was choking and something smells so i think its going to go soon and its the Evga geforce 7600gt.

Can the graphics card hurt anything if it goes? like the mobo?

Its my third build thats having this trouble.
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I heard something sizzling/popping. I think its either the mobo or the video card. I have no clue so i shut off the computer and now i am on my other computer. Thats why its good to have more than 1 computer.
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

You guys where slow to answering so i fixed the problem. It was the power supply which i paid $80 for and its a 400 watt. bad deal.

Oh yeah can you give me a link to a good sli power supply on newegg?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.