Dell Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
Night Fox's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Dell Upgrade

Hey everyone...a friend of mine wants to upgrade his graphics card to play BF3/MW3/Skyrim. His budget is $250. I picked out: - EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1461-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
and he'll need a better power supply: - OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom

My main concern is that this is a Dell Inspiron 530 he got in 2008. 6gb ram, Intel Q6600. He currently has a 9500gt. Dell's support site says he can only upgrade to a 9800. I'm assuming this is just the power supply limitations. Can I upgrade the power supply in this Dell? I'm not sure if they have some different case standard or motherboard contraption to stop this...any suggestions/info/advice?

Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Dell Upgrade

as long as the case and PSU are ATX then thats fine, the problem is the dimensions.
Dell have stupid cases, like chinese puzzle boxes to get into and half the dells in England open from the side panel on the right of the machine (in england the standard is from the left) so check the dimensions of the new card, it may not fit in the case

the 9500 and 800 are PCI-E as is the new card, dont see a problem there though
Sheepykins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Upgrade Roark System Upgrades 2 06-14-2011 02:03 PM
hi all i need help on a upgrade for my old dell michael the poor System Upgrades 1 04-04-2011 10:32 PM
Is a cpu upgrade possible on my old dell? jollygrunt System Upgrades 10 04-17-2008 08:05 AM
Help with Dell Upgrade truebe New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-16-2007 07:06 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.