DELL ripoff - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default DELL ripoff

i bought laptop with 100GB hard drive
on start up i pressed F2 and it showed 98GB hard drive installed

when i go to my computer total space is only 66GB?

where is the rest??
__________________

4uvak is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Hey man at least its not blowing up on you LOL. I had a dell laptop 2700$ and the it was crap...unexpandable and the motherboard went 2 months out of warrenty.Anyway if its new my advice would be to send it back and get something decent.
__________________

Conroe is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

For one, when you format a drive, you lose space because it's rated in gigaBITS. When you format it, it becomes gigaBYTES. 8 bits = 1 byte.

Windows OS takes up about 4 GBs, and if you had anything else installed when you purchased it, then more space is going to be lost.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

under hard disk drives i have local (C) total space 66.6 free 50
and under D Backup i have 21.5free and21.5 total

can i save files on D?
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

both of them are NTFS
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4uvak
under hard disk drives i have local (C) total space 66.6 free 50
and under D Backup i have 21.5free and21.5 total

can i save files on D?
Yes you can. The only reason why you can't is if D is a CD/DVD drive or floppy.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
when i go to my computer total space is only 66GB
Odds are it is in a restore partition. Very few system manufacturers' ship actually CDs anymore... they put everything in a seperate partition on the hard drive.

Of course, if your hard drive up and dies you are totally screwed...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

yeah but D backup is empty it says it has 21.5 and 21.5 are free there is like 120kb are occupied and thats it
i think restore portion on C
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

That's what Trotter said.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

all it is, is an image for the system to use in case the system has to restore itself to factory specs... most companies use Norton Ghost so they are super small. I dunno why the partition is so big though... usually the restore partition is only like 4-5GB or so... <shrug>
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.