Dell Processor Died =\ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Dell Processor Died =\

Hey guys, I just had my Pentium 4 2.4 GHZ processor die on me, socket 478. I was wondering if I could replace the processor with a Celeron 2.6 GHZ processor thats also socket 478.
__________________

nahbaegopa is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Default

It will only work if your mobo is both celeron and pentium compatible, check with dell support.
__________________

JamezKangster is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

how come you are sure its dead? processor dead is the leasttttttttttttttt probability when computer fails to start. check out your other components.

though you can use any compatible processor.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 05:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

My thoughts exactly, B_A.

Odds are either the PSU, mobo, of video (card or chip) died.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

the cpu actually has black marks on it, presumably from it being fried. I tested the psu, hdd, and ram, and they all work. This pretty much narrows it down to being the motherboard and/or the processor. Is there any way to see if my motherboard is stll working?
nahbaegopa is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Pop in another processor and give her a whirl.

If it fried, you either had a heck of an energy surge (mobo probably fried, too), or your fan on your heatsink died. Possibly the thermal pad died, too. Anyway, you will have to get some thermal paste and apply it on the CPU before you remount the heatsink.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

im not quite sure if the mobo still works. the heatsink fan still spins, and the hard drives still operate with this old motherboard. ill have to find a cpu to give it a try. thanks for everything
nahbaegopa is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 04:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hhmm, that doesnt seems possible either, unless you were using your CPU as ashtray, as P-4 comes with thermal Diode, even the P-3 was in with that. as when it gets hotter, it shuts down the system. though strange problem you're telling that a P-4 has black marks on it. then this is one in a million case I have ever seen for P-4's
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.