Dell not recognizing new sata drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2006, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default Dell not recognizing new sata drive

New hard drive "HD 250G|SAMSN 7K 8M SATA2 SP2504C"
existing 40gb ata
xp home
The samsung drive requires a jumper if system isn't capable of 3.0gb/s, I've tried with or with out jumper and it's not there. I've tried connecting to both connectons sata 0 and sata 1 on the m/b.
Please help before I lose it...I've built so many computer I've lost count but every time I open a Dell case it's another nightmare for the simplest of tasks. Thanks in advance.


greenhorn31 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Does the BIOS pick it up?

turtile is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 07:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

Ooops my bad it's a 4600 dimension.

Ok, after an hour on the phone with Dell support, the following is what it took for the computer to recognize the new hard's really ugly so hang on...

1) Sata drive connected to "Sata 0" on the motherboard
2) disconnect existing ata drive, ide cable and power
3) restart computer enter BIOS - for my machine it's the F2 key
4) turn on all three lights on the keyboard for "numlock, capslock, scrollk"
5) hit alt + E then alt + F
6) go to system event in BIOS, hit enter and hit clear events
7) hit esc then esc again and choose save and exit
8) when it restarts shut it down and reconnect the existing ide and power cable
9) restart and enter BIOS
10) repeat steps #4 and #5
11) hit esc and choose save and exit
12) enter BIOS again and go to drive configuration and you should now see your drive
13) I'm back to normal with the ATA Drive just like it was and the new 250gb sata is now formatting for extra storage.

W O W !!!!!!!!!!

That is why there is only one dell out of 7 machines in my house and it's on it's way out. I added a third drive my machine that I built and it took all of 5 minutes. This one wasted my entire evening. But then again you get what you pay for....oh wait it's a Dell never mind, no you don't. :>P
greenhorn31 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 08:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

You've got to be kidding
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

Not kidding the least little bit.....
greenhorn31 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.