Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2008, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Unhappy Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

All,
In Nov. 07 I purchased a Dell Inspiron 530 (e2160). The Foxconn G33 motherboard is quad-core capable. I just ordered a Q6600, will this upgrade work? Anyone out there with knowledge on this matter, please help!
__________________

chrabar is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

it all depends on your PSU, but by all rights, your system should be more than capable of handling a Q6600. what are the other specs?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

It will work

Hope that PSU is good though
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

It might not work. The BIOS might not be capable of handling it. This is how Dell gets you. You have a mobo that can but they limit the BIOS. I have the same issue with my Dimension 8400. I could get a 64 Bit PSU but they have the BIOS limited so i cant.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
It might not work. The BIOS might not be capable of handling it. This is how Dell gets you. You have a mobo that can but they limit the BIOS. I have the same issue with my Dimension 8400. I could get a 64 Bit PSU but they have the BIOS limited so i cant.
A 64 Bit PSU? >.< Where does one get one of those?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

My bad. Didnt read it right. I mean CPU not PSU...

long days short nights make Mak very moody....

Sorry.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

PSU = power supply
CPU = processor

u said 64-bit PSU.....

hmmmm....
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 08:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade

Cant edit that post. But edited previous one. Thanks for spelling it out for this old timers. xD
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1505 freezes when power is plugged/unplugged nathaliev Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-07-2008 05:51 PM
Dell XPS 420 or Inspiron 530 samuelsteven New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-17-2008 04:32 AM
Upgrade Dell Inspiron 600m Memory/HDD Laptop jto18 Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-11-2007 11:16 PM
Dell Inspiron 9300 upgrade Jlagreca Laptops and Notebooks 4 09-09-2007 06:45 PM
Dell Inspiron Motherboard/Memory Problem Jaco42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-10-2007 02:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.