Dell hardrive problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2005, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Question Dell hardrive problem?

Ok so my uncle just bopught a new comp and he gave my parents his old dell dimension 4600 desktop with a p4 2.4ghz processor. well that computer wouldn't turn on because the powersupply went out so he bought a new one and his friend instaleed it for him and i checked it and it looks good but wen i booted up the comp it trys to load windows but bios sed ide hard disk not found like it cant find the hardrive. So at first i thought it was the hardrive so i tried using my old hardrive which was working but wen i put it in the comp it still sed hardrive not found so then i tried using an other ide cable but it still wouldn't recognize it.Everything is plugged in perfectly but i just don't know what is the problem does bios need to be adjusted as far as the settings? or is it just that the mobo doesn't work good because the old psu blew out? so if you have any ideas please help me or if you need to ask me anymore questions please ask me. ok thanx guys for

New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

the psu probably took out the mobo. more like a blown IDE slot. lol

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

I'm gambling the same thing as PZEROFGH...he put in the wrong type of PSU, therefore rendering the IDE slot (and probably a good portion of the mobo) useless.

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.