Dell Dimension E310 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 02:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Angry Dell Dimension E310

i bought a Dimension E310 from Dell for 500 bucks with these components.

Intel Pentium 4 521 HT 2.8
1 GB DDR2 RAM
80GB
Intel Integrated Media Accelerator 900

and all the other standard stuff.. I was happy with it until I opened the case and found no AGP or PCI-E 16x slots in the motherboard. Plus, the RAM memory slots are all filled too. (There's only two) So, Im planning to upgrade my motherboard.

What is the most compatible motherboard that has a PCI-E/AGP slot, will fit inside the Dell Dimension E310 tower and will work without much problems.

Im just a newbie in terms of uprgrading and replacing computer components so the less complicated the better!
__________________

limiseen is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Ewww... micro BTX board... %@&* Intel...

NewEgg only has one, Intel BOXD945GBOLKR, Socket 775, $116.99 + $4.85 Three Day Shipping.

ZipZoomFly has 10, ranging from $87.55 to $137.
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Search.jsp

Odds are you'll need a new PSU. The one in your Dell will be very underpowered, especially if you add a graphics card.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

well allright.. any other boards?
limiseen is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

if you could, return it now and build yourself one, you'd prolly come out cheaper and w/o extra parts.

and i say it's gonna be a pain to change the mobo on an OEM comp since you don't have that much of a selection and warranty goes bye-bye.

but, hey, watever suits ya.

best of luck
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

It doesn't seem worth your while to find a new mobo and replace everything. Either get a refund, or eBay that thing and build your own from scratch.
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.