Dell Dimension E310 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2006, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Angry Dell Dimension E310

i bought a Dimension E310 from Dell for 500 bucks with these components.

Intel Pentium 4 521 HT 2.8
Intel Integrated Media Accelerator 900

and all the other standard stuff.. I was happy with it until I opened the case and found no AGP or PCI-E 16x slots in the motherboard. Plus, the RAM memory slots are all filled too. (There's only two) So, Im planning to upgrade my motherboard.

What is the most compatible motherboard that has a PCI-E/AGP slot, will fit inside the Dell Dimension E310 tower and will work without much problems.

Im just a newbie in terms of uprgrading and replacing computer components so the less complicated the better!

limiseen is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Ewww... micro BTX board... %@&* Intel...

NewEgg only has one, Intel BOXD945GBOLKR, Socket 775, $116.99 + $4.85 Three Day Shipping.

ZipZoomFly has 10, ranging from $87.55 to $137.

Odds are you'll need a new PSU. The one in your Dell will be very underpowered, especially if you add a graphics card.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

well allright.. any other boards?
limiseen is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155

if you could, return it now and build yourself one, you'd prolly come out cheaper and w/o extra parts.

and i say it's gonna be a pain to change the mobo on an OEM comp since you don't have that much of a selection and warranty goes bye-bye.

but, hey, watever suits ya.

best of luck
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool

It doesn't seem worth your while to find a new mobo and replace everything. Either get a refund, or eBay that thing and build your own from scratch.
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.