Dell Dimension 4600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default Dell Dimension 4600

im asking this because i know the answer is hard to find, and despite 2hrs of research, i cant find it.

what is the fan size for the rear (and only) fan on the Dell Dimension 4600. i want to upgrade it for better cooling.

its not 120, and its not 80.



thanks a lot,
Phate
__________________

Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

92mm.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

thanks a ton!
Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

also, anyone know what kind of processor? im upgrading processor and video card

i know video is AGP4X/8X, so i selected this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130269

but what is the interface for this mobo for processors? i think its a LGA775socket, but im not sure... anyone check up on this?
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

assuming its LGA775, which it might not be, this is what i was thinking:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116238
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

It is socket 478, the slightly older Intel socket type. You can still get a nice processor for it, but it might cost a little more.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

damnit. i wanted dual core
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Uh oh. According to my sources, your motherboard only supports a 533MHz bus. Most modern processors for socket 478 uses an 800MHz bus.

I think you may need a motherboard upgrade (if it's even possible. You got yourself into a mess when buying Dell, they are very un-upgradable)


Here's all the info you might want on your computer:
Clicky
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

i want dual core. is it worth the hassle to upgrade to a mobo that has LGA775 socket cpu to get dual core?

this is the other CPU for 478. compare and contrast, is upgrading mobo worth it?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116171
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

only supports 533mhz?!?!? THATS EVIL!!!

well, im gonna have to work out finding something that will interface right with EVERYTHING in here... thats gonna be HARD
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.