Dell Dimension 4400 Motherboard Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2010, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Dell Dimension 4400 Motherboard Upgrade

I have a Dell Dimension 4400 and I want to upgrade the motherboard to make it have more than 1GB of RAM. Is there a special type of motherboard I need or can I use any? I was thinking maybe this one? Intel® - ATX Desktop Motherboard (Socket LGA 775) - BOXDP43TF
__________________

PwnCookie is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dell Dimension 4400 Motherboard Upgrade

Run cpuz to find out exactly what cpu you have.
CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

From what I see you are running this cpu.
Intel« Pentium« 4 Processors 1.80 GHz - SL62P

Skt 478 will not work in a skt 775 board.

In reality once you buy 2gb of ddr ram and a skt 478 board (both old technology) you would have been better off just saving your money for a new computer in my opinion. Not to mention you may have difficulties putting a standard atx board in a Dell case.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Dell Dimension 4400 Motherboard Upgrade

Bad news, mate. Your CPU is a socket 478, not a 775. However, I did find this for you:
Intel D865GLCLK Intel 865G Socket 478 mATX Motherboard w/Video, Audio & GbLAN Intel 4000888 D865GLCLK
$58 + shipping

It will handle up to 4GB (4 x 1GB DDR) of RAM, but XP (32-bit) will only access up to 3.5GB of RAM. That number includes any memory on your graphics card.

The mobo I linked to has an AGP slot, just like your current board, so if you do have a graphics card it will swap out without a problem.

This one has a PCI-E slot, but can only handle up to 2GB (2 x 1GB DDR) of RAM:
Biostar 945GC-M4 Intel 945GC Socket 478 mATX Motherboard w/Video, Audio & LAN Biostar 945GC-M4
$54 + shipping
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding memory to Dell Dimension E310 ep_comp System Upgrades 9 12-28-2009 09:26 PM
Hope to upgrade this wack Dell offsafety System Upgrades 2 10-05-2009 09:36 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Dell dimension 4700c video card upgrade Segamaster222 System Upgrades 0 08-10-2008 07:38 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.