Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2009, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Question Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

I presently own (2) XFX XXX Edition GTX260's and have them in SLI. I'm wanting to purchase a couple of the new GTX 285's for an SLI configuration.

My specs:

Quote:
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 (x86)
nForce4 590i SLI
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 @ 3.2ghz
4gb DDR2-667
2 - 80gb Raptors in RAID0 (10,000rpm/each)
2 - 320gb Caviars in RAID0 (7,200rpm/each)
2 - XFX XXX Edition GTX 260's in SLI
3 - DVD/CD combo drives

Here is what my PSU says:





For one (1) GTX 285, the minimum power supply requirement is 650w.

What I want to know is, will my 1000w psu be enough to power everything in my case along with (2) of the GTX285's in SLI?
__________________

PH3N0M is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

You have 5 18a rails. The 285 actually only requires roughly the same power draw as the 260, so you should be good to go.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 03:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

Upgrade your ram to some 1066mhz sticks.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

It depends on the power efficiency of your PSU. Some PSU's say 1000 watts, but can they actually deliver that in actual continuous power?

If money's no object, PC Power and Cooling Turbocool 1200W will give you the stable power you need, but that's like a $500 part so... It all depends on how well your current PSU performs.
goraiden is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 03:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

Here is my question. Why spend about $700 for an extra 10 to 15 fps? Here is a good comparison of different vid card setups and there fps in different games.
Nvidia's GeForce GTX 285 and 295 graphics cards - The Tech Report - Page 7

Now you could sell your 260's for maybe $200 a piece but you are still spending $300 and the difference between 85fps and 100fps is close to impossible to see.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 03:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Upgrade your ram to some 1066mhz sticks.
How much difference will that actually make, though? I remember reading some benchmark thing a while ago when they cut the speed of 800 RAM in half, and it made a 3% dent in performance.

Sorry for the OT post Just curious, I may upgrade my RAM in that case.

On topic, assuming your PSU is decently built, it should handle it easily.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Dell 1000w psu and GTX 285 in SLI

There would be little increase in performance, so little that you wouldn't tell from using your computer. But it would probably give you some extra points on a benchmark score like 3DMark, especially if you tighten the timings.

But 1066 ram is also a good choice if you are running a high FSB on the cpu. And depending on your FSB:RAM ratio, you would need 1066 ram to reach high clock speeds.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
psu for gtx 280 sli jseber1982 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-24-2008 04:05 PM
XFX GTX 260 SLI Issue PH3N0M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-22-2008 01:41 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 3-Way SLI vs. ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Quad CrossFireX Prototype New Technology and Products 57 08-24-2008 08:08 PM
PSU? for GTX 260/280. dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-18-2008 03:41 PM
GTX 280 SLI Power Requirements? dhgunit New Technology and Products 10 06-07-2008 02:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.