Deciding if i should purchase a video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

donutpink

Beta member
Hello, I am relatively new to this tech site. I would like to ask some advice in purchasing a video card for my computer. This computer I have bought one year ago came with not so good quality integrated video card.
I was planning in buying the Sapphire Radeon HD5770 video card from my computer. I understand buying a video card involves many factors. I recently bought a ASUS 23inch LED monitor with resolution up to 1920 by 1080. Previous from buying this monitor I had a 19 inch gateway monitor that i would usually play starcraft2 on low settings with very minimal lag. Now as I switched to the new ASUS 23inch monitor, I have noticed that it lags. By lag, when i move my screen it is not smooth but a little choppy.
The reason I am hesitant to buy the video card is that the video card might not reduce lag when I am playing games such as sc2 because of my computer and the resolution of the monitor. I am afraid the video card can "bottle neck" because of the specs of my computer.
I am also planning to dual screen with my old 19inch monitor that is why i chose the Sapphire Radeon HD5770

Well now here are my questions

Will buying the Sapphire Radeon HD5770 video card reduce the lag of games while being able to play on high resolution?

Are there any other less expensive video cards that I can use so the video card will not "bottle neck" and maximize the potential of the video card, while being able to play on decent resolution on my ASUS 23 inch monitor?

Any advice about my problem of deciding in purchasing this video card would be great
I do not know all the specs to my computer but this is the most I know.

AMD Athlon II X4 630 Processor 2.80GHz
4.00 GB of RAM
Windowsn 7 64bit

I appreciate all for reading my dilemma and answering my questions. Thank you