decent upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default decent upgrade?

i am looking to upgrade my PC, because intel is now making new celeron D processors
http://support.intel.com/products/pr...on_d/index.htm


i was thinking of upgrading my PC to these new specs, but i need opinions/help:

Intel Celeron D 355 (3.33 Ghz)
2048 MB PC3200 DDR-RAM
250 GB Maxtor Hard Drive
ATI Radeon 9600 256 MB Video Card
Alienware Case

is this a decent upgrade, or should i just go crazy, and get a pentium 4 for $500 more than a celeron?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

What are you using it for?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

web surfing, watching movies, photoshop, games, and burning movies...

i do that stuff on my PC right now (see specs), but its getting too laggy, and i wanna stick with celeron (its cheap, its fast)
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Default

If you are going to upgrade, get a better graphics card. onboard suck for games.
hinker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Except for it being Intel (personal preference), you look almost good.

I'd drop that Maxtor HD for a Seagate, though, even if i had to go with less storage to even out the costs.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

hinker - i am getting a graphics card, an ATI Radeon 9600

trotter - i personally like intel (grew up with it, lol)

im not looking for a fancy, name-brand hard drive, just something that is pretty solid and quiet

the hard drive i have right now (40GB western digital) is noisy!! :O
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Maxtor is known for dying.

Seagate makes a great drive, and has a five year warranty.

Nothing wrong with Intel. They work, just differently than an AMD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i have heard that AMD is cheaper, but where i got my computer, they have a pentium 4 3.8 Ghz, and an Athlon 4400+ at the same price - $800...so i hope that AMD is good...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the only reason i want to get maxtor is best buy has a huge selection of hard drives...and all they sell is maxtor!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

4400+ = 4.4GHz Intel

If you can't order a better drive online (for whatever reason), go with what you can get. If it craps out on you, take it back and pitch a hissy fit on 'em.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.